Categories
General

Optimal buffer-size to view streaming (online) without stops…

How long I’ve to wait for view my streaming (youtube, megavideo) online movie without stops?

Well is pretty simple, you just have to know two things:

* The lenght of the streaming in seconds.
* The proportion between your bandwith rate (Kb/s) and the streaming encoded bitrate (Kb/s).

The first is trivial to get, for the second we can get it indirectly.

That proportion bandwith/bitrate is the same proportion that the inverse of the delay time you have to wait between a stop and a resume.

So the time you have to wait for buffer fill enought to view the movie flawlessly is:

buffertime = movielength (1 – 1/(delay))

Example:

I want to view a movie witch length is 1:39:17 that’s 17s + (39m x 60s/m) + (1h x 3600s/h) = 5957s

I’ve detected 5 seconds between an stop and a resume, so I need to wait:

5957s x (1 – 1/5) = 5957s x (1 – 0.2) = 5957s x (0.8) = 4765s = 1:19:25

Then I have to wait the buffer fill 80% of the bar to view my movie without stops. Meanwhile I can be doing some popcorn and not wast my time waiting front the screen!

I hope be usefull. 🙂

Leave a comment